www.Arkansas Jazz Educators All-State Meeting Minutes Hot Springs Convention Center February 16, 2012

President-elect Todd Johnson called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m. due to the absence of President Ron Horton.

Minutes from the summer meeting were circulated by Secretary Jackie Lamar and were approved.

Treasurer Robin Ratliff made a financial report which was approved.

Greg Hoffman from Branson On-Stage Live made a presentation to the membership regarding high school jazz festivals. They are starting a jazz festival in Branson, MO that will involve a performance with or without adjudication. The festival will include clinics and the winners will be featured in a showcase prior to a "Branson On-Stage Live" show.

Clay Hooten moved to present Warren Casey with a plaque for 25 years of service to Arkansas IAJE/ARJE. Motion passed.

Jackie Lamar requested recommendations for Jazz Clinicians for ABA convention. These included C.E. Askew, Eric Richards, Jim Cullom, Tome Bones Malone, mark Taylor and Allen Baylock.

ARJE Jazz Festival: Clay Hooten of Dardanelle High School volunteered to host the festival on April 21st in conjunction with the Dardanelle River Festival.

Audition Music: ASBOA has requested the ARJE develop 3 permanent sets of jazz tryout material that can be rotated, rather than composing new music every year. President Ron Horton and President Todd Johnson have been working on this project and presented a potential set for 2012-2013 which was reviewed by the ASBOA Jazz Committee and approved. Composers of etudes will be contacted to make any necessary changes to follow the recommendations of the ASBOA committee. Ron Horton has volunteered to work with Jon-Ross Music to meet the deadline of having the music ready prior to ABA. He has also engaged a recording company and rhythm section to record the back-ground tracks. The ABA clinics on the tryout material will not be recorded or included in this packet to expedite getting the material ready on time.

Members in attendance: Kevin Dunn, Robin Ratliff, Grant Harvison, Brenda Harbison, Don Bailey, Cody Jernigan, Clay Hooten, Lowell Cavender, Ron McHone, Larry Jones, Chuck Booker, Logan Smith, Todd Johnson, and Jackie Lamar

Respectfully Submitted, Jackie Lamar, Secretary