Arkansas Jazz Educators

Spring Meeting Minutes, 2-14-2013

President Todd Johnson called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m.

The minutes from the summer meeting were approved as distributed by Secretary Jackie Lamar

Treasurer's report: \$5,040.45 balance was reported by Robin Ratliff.

President Todd Johnson solicited helpers for the All-State Jazz Concert, as he was ill and needed to go home.

Officer Elections: The following slate of officers was nominated for the 2013-2015 biennium:

President: Clay Hooten, Dardanelle President Elect: Mike Underwood, UALR Vice President: Adam Coats, Fort Smith

Treasurer: Robin Ratliff (Heber Springs Junior High)

Secretary: Grant Harbison, West Memphis Past President: Todd Johnson, Conway

A ballot will be circulated electronically to all active members on May 15 to be returned by May 30. Officers will begin their terms at the ABA Convention in July. Current officers will continue to serve until the convention.

Old Business:

Todd Johnson gave a report on the ASBOA Jazz Committee, for which he also serves as chair. The dinner ARJE arranged for the All-State Jazz students was successful again, giving the students a shorter dinner break and more rehearsal time. Sponsors provided the bulk of the cost of providing the meal.

New Business:

ABA Clinicians: The following names were suggested for ABA Jazz Clinicians: Victor Lopez, Kris Berg, Jose Diaz, Ron Carter, and Peter BarenBregge. Robin Ratliff volunteered to secure the clinician for ABA.

Todd Johnson presented the report on the 2013-2014 All-Region/All-State Jazz Audition Music. The change of scales was approved by ASBOA and will use swing feel and style of articulations. Scale sheets are being prepared. Larry Nored is preparing the edits for the material and will get the music prepared on time. Clay Hooten volunteered to set up the recording for demonstration tracks.

Clay Hooten gave a report on the ARJE Jazz Festival. Due to the success of 2012's festival, it will be expanded to two days, April 26-27 at the Dardanelle City Park. He requested ARJE fund \$300 for certificates and mileage for the guest artists. Motion passed.

A reminder that dues are \$25 per year (\$100 for patrons) and are payable at ABA, with a deadline of October 1. Late payment of \$5 will be assessed if turned in after Oct. 1.

Meeting adjourned at 5:20 p.m.

Attendance: Paul Taylor, Cody Jernigan, Grant Harbison, Brenda Harbison, Katrina Struckman, Adam Gooden, Adam Coats, Clay Hooten, Stan Hall, Michael Williamson, Jackie Lamar, Todd Johnson.

Respectfully submitted,

Jackie Lamar, secretary